Mercator Never Headed in Meadowbrook Chase: Beneksar Second and Burma Road Third to W. H. Lipscomb Fencer, Daily Racing Form, 1946-05-29


view raw text

Mercator Never Headed In Meadowbrook Chase Beneksar Second and Burma Road Third to W. H. Lipscomb Fencer BELMONT PARK, Elmont, L. I., N. Y., May 28. — W. H. Lipscombs Mercator led from wire to wire in the 31st running of the 0,000 Meadowbrook Steeplechase Handicap, feature event of todays Belmont Park program, reaching the end of the about two miles and a half three lengths before Mrs. Henry Obres Beneksar, who led Mrs. Esther duPont Weirs Burma Road another eight lengths. Rigan McKinneys Navigate finished a length out of the money in the field of eight, all of whom finished the gruelling course over 16 fences. Mercator was a well played second choice, paying .30 and was ridden confidently by WZ Leonard, who took him to the front at the start and never looked back. A crowd of 20,109, 5,000 more than turned out yesterday, braved the inclement weather. Form was intermittent throughout the matinee with Mrs. Louis Lazares Colorset paying a generous .50 in the opener, Lucky Leaf Stables Mighty Master scoring a popular victory in the second race and Emil Schwarzhaupts Gracie Vee out-finishing the favored War Fan, Lord Boswell s half-sister in the third event. Mrs. J. S. Letelliers Uncle Mac returned .00 in the mile, fourth race, but ran like the even money shot he appeared on paper. Larney Hansman took the riding honors in the early part of the program, taking both juvenile races, with Colorset and Gracie Vee, who were saddled by Bill Hicks. Mercator made a parade of the Meadowbrook. Burma Road made a bad landing at the water jump, then was all but forced off the course at the juncture with the Widen-er chute the second time around. The Meadowbrook was a remarkably cleanly run race, particularly in view of the heavy, rain-soaked course. Mercator, who had fallen when in front in the Appleton Steeplechase last week, earned ,975 and was scoring his first victory in three starts this year. He was voted the Chase Championship of 1945.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1946052901_28_4
Library of Congress Record: