New Officials For Jefferson Park: Tribe Will Succeed Dade as Starter--Campbell to Be Secretary and Clerk of the Scales., Daily Racing Form, 1918-11-14


view raw text

NEW OFFICIALS FOR JEFFERSON PARK Tribe Will Succeed Dade as Starter Campbell to Be Secretary and Clerk of the Scales ScalesNew New Orleans La November 13 Personnel of the corps of officials who will handle the racing at Jefferson Park the coming winter shows several changes from last year AAMth the exception of Pre ¬ siding Judge Joseph A Murphy and Associate Judge Carter C Hall all other positions will see new men this year yearChief Chief of the changes is in the appointment of Edward Tribe as starter to succeed A 15 Dade whose duties at Latonia might keep him occupied until the Jefferson meeting h under way Mr Dade in all likelihood will officiate at the barrier at the Fair Grounds as by that time lie will have been released from his duties in Kentucky KentuckyEdward Edward Tribe became well known as a starter through the western states during the past few years and officiated at Bowie last spring Tribe will start the Bowie meeting at the machine and probably will see Bowie through in which event George T Miller will raise the tape until Tribe arrives arrivesAnother Another change will be the incorporation of the racing secretary and clerk of the scales position J B Campbell a New Orleans man will manage both offices at Jefferson Joseph McLennan was racing secretary last year Air Campbell needs no introduction to followers of racing racingHerman Herman Conkling will serve as the other associate judge with Judge Murphy and Carter C Hall The three men will form a board of stewards and of ¬ ficial judges and they will control the sport at the Shrewsbury track trackJohn John Carey who was paddock judge last winter at both Jefferson and the Fair Grounds will be back at his same old job the coming winter Dr J A Kyle has been appointed patrol judge It will be Uls fluty to jfatri heracilig about tlie f ar turn A meeting of the Jefferson Parish Fair Association directors was held recently and the following of ¬ ficers were reelected Leo A Marrero president Anthony Rouprich vice president and general manager Frank S Ein ¬ stein secretary and treasurer directors Leo A Marrero Frank S Einstein Anthony Rouprich A S Thompson H Iturbank and Jules Fisher

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1918111401_1_4
Library of Congress Record: