Australian Racing News: Chairman of the Jockey Club Appointed Chief Justice, Daily Racing Form, 1919-12-11


view raw text

AUSTRALIAN RACING NEWS . Chairman of the Jockey Club Ap- J pointed Chief Justice. Trainer Bradfields Record- . Breaking Feat Wager Profits Not Taxable. Adrian Knox; chairman of the Australian Jockey Club, 1ms been appointed chief justico of the Federal High Court of New .South Wales, Australia. Mr. Knox lias lieeii an active owner for many years and lias raced two of the best horses in the Sydney district in Vavasour and Popinjay. He also took a lending part in drafting the present rules of Australian racing. The new race stand .it the Iticcarton course, Christchurch, New Zealand, one of the lest organizations in the colonies, is to have moving side-walks to its upper floor. The new stand is to replace the structure burned down some months ago. Recently at the sitting of the taxation commission the ines t ion arose as to whether money won by a witness by betting on race horses was taxable as income. To test this question Reginald Allen, solicitor, studinaster and a leading member of the Australian Jockey Club committee, appealed against the inclusion by the slate income tax commissioners of a sum of ,000 won by. him by backing horses in 1017 in the income derived by appellant from liis business as studmaster. Judge Scholes, in giving his reserved judgment in Sydney, held that money woii by casual betting wasr exempt from taxation. If appellant had carried on the "business of betting" his winnings would have been suliject to taxation, but as appellant had only easually made bets like an ordinary member of the public his winnings were not. taxable. The feat of II. Rradfleld in turning out from his stable, the three placed horses hi the Caulfield Cup bus never before been nccnmnlished in connection with an important race in Australia. There have been several cases of one stable providing the first and second the Caulfield Cup of 1907. in which Poseidon just beat Apologue, both trained hy the late 1. Earnshaw; the .Melbourne Cup of 1.S97, in which Gaulus heat by a narrow margin The Grafter, Itoth trained by the late William Forrester, and the MellHiurne Cup of 1900, in which Clean Sweep won from Malster. both trained by lames Scohie, to mention hut three instances. Seo-bje started four in that Melbourne Cup Clean Sweep, Malster, La. Carabine and The Itride and they were all near the front coming to the home turn. La Carabine finished seventh and The Hride a long way farther back. In the Victoria Derby of 390U horses trained by Scohie ran first I. J. A., second Sweet Xell and fourth Kmir. The most remarkable record of this kind, however, was in connection with a minor event a nursery handicap at Rosehill. X. S. W., in 1891, when five horses were started from T. Paytens stable Donation. Autonomy, Arquebus, Warpaint and The Rector and hey finished at the head of the field in that order. POSEIDONS DOUBLE CUP VICTORY. The only horse that has succeeded in winning both the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup is Poseidon, which as a three-year-old took the two events in 1905. His weight in the Caulfield Cup was 105 pounds and in the Melbourne Cup 104 pounds. Lucknow won the Caulfield Cup under US tounds. He will have to carry 121 in the Mellxmrne Cup. Five winners of the Caulfield Cup have been placed in the respective years in which they started in the Melbourne Cup, as the following return discloses: Position in Caulfield Cup Winner. Melbourne Cup. 1881 Master Avenel Non-starter 1882 Little Jack Nowhere 1883 Calma Tenth 1884 Rlink Ronny fifteenth 1883 Grace Darling Second 1S80 Ren Holt Tenth 1887 Oakleigh .Seventh 1888 Chicago Seventh 18S9 Hoz Non-starter 1890 Vengeance Nowhere 1891 iXnroo Nowhere 1892 Pi:rs .Sixth 1895 Sainfoin Nowhere 1894 Paris Fifth 1M15 Waterfall Fourth 1895 Cremorne Non-starter 1897 AmlHi ite Nowhere 1S9S Hymettlis Non-starter 1899 Dewey Third 1900 Ingliston Non-starter 1901 Hymettus Nowhere 1902 Lieutenant Rill Tenth 1903 Sweet Nell Seventh 1 fiat Murmur Nowhere 1905 Marvel Loch Seventh iniMS Poseidon First 3907 Poseidon Eighth 1SM8 Maranui i Non-starter 1909 Aborigine Non-starter Hint Rook Twelfth 1910 -Flavlnius Nowhere Medallist Non-starter 1911 -Ladv - 1912 -Fnclc Sam Third 1913 Aurifer Nowhere HIM PiK-l-! Sam Sixth 3915 Liivciido Fourteenth 39115 Shepherd King ....Second 3917 Itronzetti i . . .Tenth 3918 King Offa Fifth Dead heat for first place. Three Jiorses that ran third in the Caulfield Cup, viz.. iiuulop in 1887. P.ravo in 1S89 and Sasanof in 1911. and two that ran second, viz.. Acrasia in 1904 and Apologue in 1907, won the Mellrourne Cup in their resiK-ctive years. Tradition 1888, Devon 1894, Tulkeroo 190S and Flavian 1911 ran second in both Cuis the same year. Silvermine was second in, the Caulfield Cup in 1885 and second in the Mellwurne Cup in 1887. while Wakeful was second in the Caulfield Cup in 1901 and second in the Melbourne Cup in 1903. KANGAROO.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1919121101_1_2
Library of Congress Record: