Connaught Park Clubs Meeting, Daily Racing Form, 1921-10-28


view raw text

C0NNAUGHT PARK CLUBS MEETING OTTAWA, Onr., October 27. The annual meeting of the Connaught Park Jockey Club was held here Tuesday, resulting in the return of the following directorate and active officers: Board of Directors Hon. X. A. Belcourt. E. S. Houston, Thomas Ahearn, T. F. Ahearn, J. K. Paisley, Stewart McClenaghan, F. W. Carling, L. N. Bate. G. F. Fauquier. W. H. McAuliffe, Allen Ross, W. F. Powell, Dr. W. A. Gray, C. A. IrvJn, J. J. Heney. D. J. McDougall. J. B. Duford, John Bain, P. .7. Backerville and John Lumsden. President Senator Belcourt. Vice Presidents Sir Clifford Sifton, Thomas Ahearn and G. E. Fauquier. Management Committee N. A. Belcourt, E. S-Houston, W. II. McAuliffe. J. K. Paisley, W. F. Powell and Stewart McClenaghan chairman. Honorary Treasurer E. S. Houston. Secretary T. P. Gorman. The financial statement for the year showed that, while the club had enjoyed greater patronage and the general business had been larger tbau ever before, the new Dominion and provincial legislation had diverted the revenue to such an extent that tl?c Connaught Park Club would not be able to declare a dividend. The increase of the daily tax and the reduction of the parl-mutuel revenue had wiped oiit tuo earning capacity of tho organization. Efforts will be made to secure from the Quebec government such relief as would Insure the shareholders a small return on. their investments.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1921102801_10_4
Library of Congress Record: