Kentucky Derby Facts and Highlights, Daily Racing Form, 1943-05-01


view raw text

Kentucky Derby Facts and Highlights The first Kentucky Derby was run in 1875 It was won by Aristides The last Kentucky Derby run a year ago was won by Shut Out Todays running is the sixty ninth Regret 1915 is the only filly and Omar Khayyam 1917 the only imported hprse to win the Kentucky Derby Cavdlcadev winner of the Derby in 1934 was imported in utero and foaled at the farm of F Wallis Armstrong in New Jersey Billy Barton a late withdrawal from the Derby in 1921 became famous as an in ¬ ternational performer and after being con ¬ verted to steeplechasing had a successful campaign in England where he finished second in the Grand National Steeplechase of 1928 The largest field to compete in the Derby was in 1928 when twentytwo went to the post The race was won by Reigh Count sire of Count Fleet The smallest field em ¬ braced but three starters this number going to the post in 1892 1899 and 1905 Not less than eight horses have started each year since 1914 Old Rosebud when only seven took part in the race A total of 688 horses for an average of ten have gone to the Derby post in the sixtyeight years it has been run runDpnerail Dpnerail winner of the 1913 Derby has the further distinction of having returned the longest odds his 2 mutuel return being 18490 straight 4120 place and 1320 to show However the longest priced Jiorse in the field that day was Lord Mar ihall who would have paid 183 tol had he finished in front In all only eight horses started that year The shortest piiced winners each 1 to 3 were Hindoo 1881 Halma 1895 and Agile 1905 The only sire of a Derby winner repre ¬ sented in tomorrows race is imported Blen ¬ heim II He begat Whirlaway winner of the classic in 1941 and his blood repre ¬ sentative today is Ocean Wave Only three winners of the Derby have sired a winner of the same stake Halma who won in 1895 was the sire of Alana Dale the Derby hero of 1902 Burgoo King who triumphed in 1932 was a son of the 1925 winner Bubbling Over and Gallant Fox victor in 1930 was only eight years old when his son Omaha took the fixture in 1935 Virgil and Falsetto are the only stallions whose get accounted for three Derby suc ¬ cesses Sons of Virgil to win the stake were Vagrant 1876 Hindoo 1881 and Ben Ali 1886 Falsetto sired the winners Chant 1894 His Eminence 1901 and Sir Huon 1906 1906Longfellow Longfellow King Alfonso Broomstick The Finn McGee Black Toney Sir Gallahad III and St Germans each have two Derby winners to their credit creditEarl Earl Sande the peer of modern jockeys and Isaac Murphy the colored saddle star of the eighties and early nineties are the only riders to win the Derby three times Sande won with Zev 1923 Flying Ebony 1925 and Gallant Fox 1930 Murphy had tlievleg up on Buchanan 1884 Riley 1890 and Kingman 1891 Murphy arid Jim Winkfield who rode His Eminence 1901 and AlanaDale 1902 are the only jockeys to ride winners in successive years Besides Winkfield John Loftus Willie Simms Alfred Johnson Linus McAtee Charles Kurtsinger and Edward Arcaro are riders of two winners of the race Seven geldings liave won the Derby the last Clyde Van Duseri taking the rich event in 1930 The others were Vagrant 1876 Apollo 1882 Macbeth 2nd 1888 Old Rosebud 1914 Exterminator 1918 and Paul Jones 1920 1920The The lightest impost carried by a Derby winner was 97 pounds Under this com jparatively small package Vagrant raced to victory in the 1876 first renewal of the fixture The heaviest is the present scale weight of 126 pounds which every winner since Paul Jones 1920 has shouldered shoulderedTwo Two of the last three winners were owned by women Shut Out 1942 and Qallahadion 1940 The former is owned by Mrs Payne Whitney Greentree Stable while Gallahadion carried Mrs Ethel V Mars Milky Way Farm silks

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1943050101_9_2
Library of Congress Record: