Brookfield Keeps on Winning: Horse Purchased in Kentucky by J. H. Mead Scores Again at Juarez, Daily Racing Form, 1914-01-08


view raw text

BROOKFIELD KEEPS ON WINNING. Horse Purchased in Kentucky hy J. H. Mead Scores Again at Juarez. El Paso, Tev., .Tauuarv 7. Rrookfielil, acquired in Kentucky bv J. II. Mead from K. R. Rradley at small cost last fall, continues his winning form. The little gelding defeated a good band of racers here tod.iv in the Tabasco Handicap over the seven-furlong route. He showed ganieness and courage in racing Vested Rights into submission, then shaking off Zim and Colonel Marchmont in a hard drive that lasted through the final furlong of the race. Relle of Rrvn Mawr turned up the winner in the final race of the day at one mile. Butter Ball, on the strength of his recent good races, was selected by the talent as the llkelv winner. He received an incompetent ride from jockey Gentry. The horse -was full of a desire to run in going down the hack-stretch and Gentrv was swinging him all over the track under a stout null, then got him into several pockets in the final quarter, with the result that he finished unplaced. M. Hopper, the owner of several horses now racing tP. here, arrived from his home In Elk City, Okla., ldny. to remain for the rest of the meeting. After being taken to the hospital It was discovered that jockey Frank Stevens had a fractured collar bone, which he received when Anion fell yesterday. Jockey Taplin was suspended for ten days by the stewards for resorting to rough riding in two different races during the afternoon. Ike Striker, owner of Little Marchmont and other horses, who has been confined In an El Paso hospital suffering vlth pneumonia, is reported to be ranldly recovering. The ten-days suspension of jockey Anthony Xeylon will expire Thursday, when the hoy will resume riding. He is the best rider at Juarez and his return to the saddle once more will be hailed with satisfaction by patrons of the track.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1914010801_1_5
Library of Congress Record: