Good Money Won in France and Spain, Daily Racing Form, 1916-12-08


view raw text

GOOD MONEY WON IN FRANCE AND SPAIN. Racing in France this year was restricted in ncope and duration. Still more money was produced by the trial meetings at Caen, Moulins and Mont-de-Marsan than is commonly understood. A number of the leading turfmen of France also tool: a prominent part in the Spanish meeting at Saint Sebastian and, from all these sources, gathered respectable stable earnings. J. D. Colin was the leader, with a stable total of something over 00,000, his fine three-year-old colt Teddy being his best money winner. The ten leading winning owners and their aggregates in stable earnings were: Owner. Amt. Won. J. I. Cohn 0,423 V. K. Vanderbilt 50,879 Huron Edouard de Rothschild 40,350 Due de Toledo King of Spain 30,940 11. Count 17,912 J. San Miguel 15,120 Ch. Forest 11,200 P.arou Gourgand 8,480 Marquis de Villainejor 8,440 T. P. Thorne 7,740 Twenty-eight other owners won sums ranging from 7,192 down to ,000. so it can be seen that there was a considerable measure of relief in comparison with the no-nioney-whatever of 1915. Aside from the direct winnings of the horses, there was a system in use by which the breeders of the winning horses came in for considerable prizes. In this department P.aron E. de Rothschild was the leader with the neat sum of ., M0, W. K. Vanderbilt following with ,570 and E. Vcil-Picard ranking third with ,150. Among the horses, four three-year-olds far excelled the others in money won, they being: A Tcdd b. c, by AJax Rondeau , 7,400 Rabanito, b. c, by Cupbearer Ravigotc 15,500 Antivari, b. c, by Sea Sick Arva 13,400 Yveline, b. f, by Gardefeu Photime 12,380 Ajax, Sans Souci II., Cupbearer, Sea Sick, Phoenix, Mnintenon, Rabelais, Peter Pan and St. Damicn were Frances ten leaders in the sire list. Of these only four had 0,000 or more to their credit, through the racing of their progeny, they being: AJax 1901, by Flying Fox Amie, by Clamart S,6C9 Sans Souci II. 1901, by Le Roi Soleil Sanctuary, by St. Serf 27,297 Cupbearer 1819, by Ormc Kissing Cup, by Hnmpton . . 25,052 Sea Sick 1905, by Elf Saf Saf 24,235 Of the jockeys, nine achieved double figures in winning mounts, with Frank ONeill the leader. Ho rode fifty-six winners and was followed in order by Stern with forty-nine; McGee, twenty-nine; Jennings, eighteen; Stokes, seventeen; Marsh, thirteen; G. Sauval, twelve, and Milton Henry, eleven.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1916120801_1_4
Library of Congress Record: