Artilleryman Wins Melbourne Cup: Eighty Thousand People See the Colt Win Australias Great Spring Race, Daily Racing Form, 1919-12-22


view raw text

ARTILLERYMAN WINS MELBOURNE CUP Eighty Thousand People See the Colt Win Australias Great Spring Race. The Melbourne Cup, Australias great race, run November 4 at Flemington, the Melbourne race course was a remarkable one in many ways. It drew about 80,000 people, the time record for the race was beaten, betting was tremendous and Artilleryman, a three-year-old which threatens greatness, won the rich prize easily by six lengths from his rival, Richmond Main. There were twenty starters in the Melbourne dip race, the summary of which is given below: Melbourne Cup. A handicap sweepstakes for all ages; 50 each, 5 forfeit, 5,000 added, with an additional gold cup valued at 50. To second ,000, to third ,500 out of stake. Two miles. Sir Samuel Hordens br. c, 3, Artilleryman, by Comedy King Cross Battery, 104 R. Lewis.. 1 J. Barons ch. e. 3. Richmond Mnin, by Prince Foote Australian Gas. 104 J. Killorn ... 2 S. M. Wilsons br. g. 8, Two Blues, by True Blue Countess, 00 V. HUlyard 3 Bobinson and Clarks ch. h, 0, Lucknow, by Minora Amphora. 120 F. Bullock 4 Borthwick and Laycocks ch. h, 5. by Kenilworth Calluna, 127 W. H. McLaeh- lan 0 J. Barons b. h. 5, Prince Viridis. by Prince Foote La Crosse, 124 K. Bracken ;.. 0 C. L. McDonalds b. g, 0, Night Watch, by St. Alwyne Wakeful. 120 G. Harrison .... 0 W. R. Kemballs b. g. 7, Snub, by Martian-Lady Disdain. 120 J. OShea 0 Major W. MeCuIloehs b. g. 8, Teleeles, by Po-f seidon Trinket. 110 P. Kelly 0 Cockram and Nicholas b. g, 7, Ian Or, by Marta- gon Ena. Ill A. Wood 0 S. Bruntons blk. g, 0. Chrome, by Bright Steel Cisneros. 110 V. Duncan 0 E. E. A. Oatleys ch. c. 4, Dick Meagher, by The Nut Far , A way. 107 P. Maher 0 Major -Alan Carries gr. h, 5. Menin, by Roi Herode Saindoux, 100 L. Franklin 0 W. Kelsos b. g. 3, Millieme, by Piastre Silk Stocking. 105 F. Herbert 0 II. W. Mortons b. m. 0, Kunegetis, by Cooltrim Artemis. 105 E. Barker 0 B. M. Carters br. g. 8. British Arch, by Marble Arch Sawdust. 101 D. OConorl K 0 H. It. TeirofdslSr. h: 4,Arft-hhrreerbyfKS:.r . wyne Collarine. 103 A. Orrell ......... 0 V. A. Zeds blk. g, 4. Clever Jim, by Comedy King Perplexity, 08 E. OSullivan 0 Sir Samuel Hordens br. g, 5, Kenllford, by Kenilworth Blueford. 97 -1. Mahoney 0 M. Ellis b. c. 3, Sonny- Foy. by Charlemagne II. Artemis, 91 J. Gardiner 0 Batting. 0 to 1 v Lucknow 14 to 1 v Kennaquahair 0 to 1 v Night Watch 25 to 1 v Ard-na-ree O to 1 v Chrome 25 to 1 v Dick Meagher 10 to 1 v Richmond Main 25 to 1 v Prince Viridis 10 to 1 v Artilleryman 33 to 1 v Teleeles 10 to 1 v Ian Or 33 to 1 v Two Blues 10 to 1 v Menin 50 to 200 to 1 others 12 to 1 v Kenilford The start was delayed five minutes through Lucknow. Night Watch was first to move from Ian Or and Richmond Main, but at the course proper Millieme was in front from Richmond Main, British Arch and Teleeles. Millieme led past the stand from British Arch. Teleeles, Richmond Main and Kune-getis. with Clever Jim last. Millieme still led from British Arch, Teleeles and Kunegetis at the mile and an eighth, where Dick Meagher ran up to the leaders: Millieme, Dick Meagher, Kunegetis, Night Watcli, Lucknow, Chrome and Menin was the order at the turn, but Artilleryman, coining through, led into the straight, and had three lengths led from Lucknow. Richmond Main. Chrome and Two Blues. At the distance Artilleryman was still in front, and won easily by six lengths, with half a length between second and third. Lucknow was fourth. Then came Chrome, Snub. Menin. Kunegetis. Night Watch. Ian Or and Sonny Foy, with Prince Viridis last. Time 3:24M:.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1919122201_1_4
Library of Congress Record: