Seven Kentucky Derby Victors Also Sired Winners of Race, Daily Racing Form, 1956-05-05


view raw text

Seven Kentucky Derby Victors Also Sired Winners of Race RaceCHURCHILL CHURCHILL DOWNS Louisville Ky May 4 There have been 81 winners of the Kentucky Deby but only seven have sired subsequent winners of the event Derby winners begot by sires who themselves ac ¬ counted for the Derby are AlanaDale 1902 by Halma 1895 Burgoo King 1932 by Bubbling Over 1926 Omaha 1935 by Gallant Fox 1930 Count Fleet 1943 by Reigh Count 1928 Assault 1946 and Middeground 1950 by Bold Venture 1936 Count Turf 1951 by Count Fleet 1943 and Ponder 1949 by Pensive 1944 1944The The Reigh CountCount FleetCount Turf combination is the only one in Ken ¬ tucky Derby history with three generations in the male line carrying off the classic

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1956050502_20_4
Library of Congress Record: