Suspend Owner, Trainer, Jockey.: Marshal Ney Gets His People Into Trouble By Winning After "Qualifying.", Daily Racing Form, 1907-05-11


view raw text

t I SUSPEND OWNER, TRAINER, JOCKEY. Marshal Ney Gets His People Into Trouble By Winning After "Qualifying." Oakland. Cal.. May 10.— There was a sensational climax to the racing here this afternoon. Immediately after the victory of Marshal Ney, in the sixth race, the stewards announced the indefinite suspension of J. C. McLaughlin, C. A. Ross and C. . Ross, respectively, the owner, trainer and jockey of the winning horse. Entries of all horses i-ontrolled or trained by C. A. Ross were also ordered refused in the future. Roy Offutt, for whom Ross trains, has also been notified to appear before the officials tomorrow and esplaiu the alleged inconsistencies of the running of his horses. Offutt declares that he is not interested in Marshal Ney and courts an investigation into the running of his own horses. Marshal Ney, which had not previously raced in eight months, finished last April 24 in a field of nine moderate horses at a mile, and three days later was seemingly unable to improve bis position against a vastly superior lot. In the first he was unfit after nearly a years absence, and he had no chance iu his subsequent effort. In both he was evidently qualifying for todays cheap affair. Heather Scott, in the opening juvenile sprint, wa» the only favorite that rewarded his backers. The best of weather prevailed, the track was fast and despite the San Francisco street car strike, the attendance was not materially decreased. A good program has been arranged for Saturday afternoon and with such fast ones as Yellowstone, Lotta Gladstone, Byron Rose; Pal, Titus II., Head Dance; Byronerdale, Benvolio, Adonis; Bedford, J. C. Clem, Ethel Day; Sir Brillar, Judge Nelson, ieorge P. McNear; Blagg, Ocean Shore and Native Sou showing among the entries, the sport of the d*y should prove highly interesting. H. Forsland,

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1907051101_1_11
Library of Congress Record: