Condensed History of the Annual Champion Stakes, Daily Racing Form, 1907-09-14

charts and information

view raw text

CONDENSED HJSTORY OF THE ANNUAL CHAMPION STAKES. In 1875 Springbok and Prcakness ran a dead heat at two miles and a quarter in 3:50 in the Saratoga Cup, breaking all previous records and astounding the tnrf world. This stood as the record until Buckwa ran the distance in 3:51 at Oakland. December 31, 1S98. The present record is 3:49i, made by Ethelbert at Brighton Beach, August 4, 1900, in a titanic combat with the famous mare Imp. In the days of Springbok and Preakness races over the cup distance were frequent and 4:02 or 4:03 was considered excellent time for the distance. It is significant of the much greater average speed of tracks and racing In recent years that the Annual Champion has never been run in such now slow time as four minutes, and that in five of its seven sears of running the time of the famous dead heat referred to has been beaten. The Annual Champion will be run for the eighth time this afternoon and Its record Is: Year. First. Age. Jockeys. Wt. Second. Age. Wt. Third. Age. Wt. Val. Time. 1900 David Garrick 4 Bullman..H9 Ethelbert 4 133 Douro 3 113 9,050 3:50 1901 Maid of Harlem 5.... Slmms.. 128 Rockton4. 130 Hammock 4 ..130 19,050 3:58s 1902 Ma j. Dalngerlield 3...Odom..ll5 Zoroaster C 11G Slipthrlft 3. ..102 19,050 3:58 1903 Igniter 4 Fuller 119 Douro G 110 M. Dgerfield4127 19,050 3:53? 1904 Stalwart 3 Redfern..ll5 Major Dalngerlield 5. 129 Broomstick 3. 107 19,050 3:543 1905 Sysonby 3 Nicol.,115 Olseau 3 10S t Broomstick 4 119 20.550 3:54 190G Accountant 3 J. Martin. .115 Ironsides 3 93 Bedouin 4 124 19,745 3:55s

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1907091401_1_7
Library of Congress Record: