Proceedings of Racing Governors, Daily Racing Form, 1913-12-18


view raw text

PROCEEDINGS OF RACING GOVERNORS. At a recent meeting of the stewards of the Jockey Club the report of the stewards of the Laurel meetr lug. from which W. S. Vosburgh dissented, refusing further entries of K. G. Martin and suspending tho trainers license of J. S. Merchant, was presented and It was voted that the case be dismissed, which had the effect of restoring Martin and Merchant to good standing. Permission was given tho Churchill Creamery Company of Fallon. New. to register and name the yearling bay colt by Colonel Wheeler Shasta Water: to William Dudley of Carlisle, Ky.. to register and name the yearling bay Ally by Plaudit Wiu If red A., and to Charles Hodges of Dallas, Tex., to register and name the yearling chestnut filly by Campus Begone. The application of William Short for a trainers license was refused, on recommendation of the license committee. Licenses were granted to the following: Trainers W. T. Anderson, Thomas J. Bird, It. F. Brown, John Charles. M. J. Daly, .las. McIImurrav, W. A. Manuels. J. J. Shannon. J. A. Strode. William Walker. Eugene Wayland. George Zeigler. Jockeys Ed Alley, F.dwnrd Carter, Daniel Comiell, James Cost ley, L. Gentry, James Longo." Frank Murphy. Thomas J. Nolan, Carnif Stanford, It. Wat-kins. John Whatley, B. Williams. The stewards of the National Steeplechase and Hunt Association have amended the rules of racing through the steeplechase field to permit the start- Ing of three-year-olds in steeplechases after May 1. Heretofore August 1 was the earliest date upon which a. three-year-old could race through the steeplechase field. An amendment has also been passed which requires any owner or training running a horse except with plates in a steeplechase to report the same to the stewards prior to starting. The annual meeting of the National Steeplechase and Hunt Association will lie held January S. Steeplechase licenses have been granted to the following: Trainers John I. Smyth, II. D. Brown, Jr., A. S. MeDanicl. Jockeys W. It. Houlihan. Charles Grand, Richard Tyler, Shelton Turner, Arthur Le Feuvre. There is still one vacancy in the membership of the Jockey Club.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1913121801_1_6
Library of Congress Record: