Winn Again Named Head of American Turf Body: Also Re-Elect Other Officers, Directors at Annual Meeting, Daily Racing Form, 1944-04-04


view raw text

j ; l c 1 " j e j. _ is d r is s s - a Winn Again Named Head Of American Turf Body Also Re-Elect Other Officers, Directors at Annual Meeting Col. Matt J. Winn was re-elected presi-1 dent of the American Turf Association, a post he has held continuously since 1928, at the annual meeting of the stockholders and directors of that body held here yesterday at its offices in the Drake Hotel. All other officers of the association, namely. Stuyvesant Peabody, vice-president; Sam H. McMeekin, secretary, and Stanley F. Hugenberg, treasurer, also were returned to their posts again, The American Turf Association operates the Lincoln Fields track here in Chicago, and Churchill Downs and Douglas Park in Louisville. The latter track has been used only for training and stabling purposes the past several years. The entire board of directors likewise was returned to office. The directors reelected were Matt J. Winn, Stuyvesant Peabody, Sam H. McMeekin, Stanley F. Hugenberg, Louie A. Beard, Bruce A. Campbell. Samuel A. Culbertson, Charles I. Dawson, C. B. Duchane, Jr., Edward J. Fleming, Dennis J. Gleeson, A. B. Hancock. C. Bruce Head, Louis J. Herrmann, Edward J. Hughes, Warner Jones, Jr., Frazer LeBus, Donald McDonald, Jr. and W. F. Wiley. Following the election of the officers and directors, routine business matters of the • association were taken up. Colonel Winn left for Louisville following ; todays meeting.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1944040401_1_6
Library of Congress Record: