view raw text
DISQUALIFICATIONS ON THE COAST. At Oakland Tuesday the filly College Widow won a race and was disqualified for fouling, but was placed second instead of last.- On all tracks of this country, except those racing under the rules of the Pacific Jockey Club, a horse disqualified for fouling is placed last. This Is also the case in England and France, and it has been a rule of racing ever since racing rules have existed. But Rule 119 of the Pacific Jockey Club says: "The judges and stewards of the course are vested with power to determine the extent of disqualification in case of fouls. They may place the offending horse behind such horses as in their judgment it interfered with, or may place him last, if in their judgment the foul was committed Intentionally." It results from tills that disqualifications for fouling at Oakland, Santa Anita and Seattle do not always bring the usual punishment, although it is a matter within the discretion of the officials to place the offending horse last if they choose to do so. .