Delaware Park Officials Approved by Commission: Family Same as 57s; Flanagan, Mehrtens, McLean Are Stewards, Daily Racing Form, 1958-05-09


view raw text

Delaware Park Officials Approved by Commission CommissionFamily Family Same as 57s Flanagan Mehrtens McLean Are Stewards StewardsWILMINGTON WILMINGTON Del May 8 Joseph F Flanagan Warren Mehrtens and Edward T Ted McLean will return to serve as stewards for the Delaware Park meeting which opens May 29 and runs through July 26 The 51day session is the longest in the tracks history The complete list of officials for the Delaware meeting was announced today after being approved by the Delaware Rac ¬ ing Commission The official family is the same as thatat last years meeting meetingOther Other officials who will be back are J Gilbert Haus racing secretary Allan W Lavin assistant racing secretary A E Abadie Charles Triplett and Henry Erick son placing judges John C Daly Frank Ritz Lucas Dupps and William OConnor patrol judges OConnor paddock judge John E OHara clerk of scales Merrall MacNeille timer George R Palmer starter and Dr David W Crisman track veterinarian veterinarianCortwright Cortwright Wetherill again has been ap ¬ pointed by The Jockey Club as its visiting member for the meeting meetingFlanagan Flanagan of Monkton Md also serves as Maryland Racing Commission steward at tracks in that state In addition to being steeplechase steward at the Delaware meet ing he will be the steward representing the Delaware Racing Commission Flanagan bred the great Elkridge leading money winning steeplechaser of all time timeMehrtens Mehrtens former jockey who rode Assault to victory in the 1946 Triple Crown races again will represent The Jockey Club in the stewards stand while McLean will be the representative of the Delaware Steeplechase and Race Association sponsor of the meet ing

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1958050901_4_4
Library of Congress Record: