Preakness Closes April 8: Big Pimlico Three-Year-Old Event Should Attract Fine Field, Daily Racing Form, 1924-03-26


view raw text

PREAKNESS CLOSES APRIL 8 Big Pimlico Three-Year-Old Event Should Attract Fine Field. - Old Maryland Jockey Club Stake Was Re-TiTed In 1909 with Victory for W. T. , Ityans Effendl. The 1924 renewal of the Preakness Stakes for three-year-old llllies and entire colts, is set for decision on Monday, May 12, the tenth day of the Pimlico spring meeting. Entries for this 0,000 stake close April 8 and the coming event will undoubtedly attract the best eligibles in the country. In 1909 when the old Preakness was revived, W. T. Ryans Effendi proved to be the first of a moderate field at a mile, followed in 1910 by Capt. E. B. Cassatts lightly weighted Layminster. The distance was increased in the succeeding year to a mile and an eighth, when August Belmonts Watervale, ridden by E. Dugan, made the track, record of 1 :51. WINDERS FROM 1912 TO 1917. The winners from 1912 to 1917 were the Beverwyck stables Col. Holloway, John Whalens Buskin, Mrs. Archibald Barklies Holiday, Edward F. Whitneys Rhine Maiden, J. K. L. Ross Damrosch and E. R. Bradleys Kalitan. None of these were of mere than average ability, although Buskin and Damrosch were useful animals and Kalitan won by reason of superior condition. But from 191S to 1923 there was a marked improvement in the quality of the Preakness winners. Whether this was due to a general improvement in the thoroughbred or to better local conditions is hard to determine. Whatever the cause, A. K. Macom-bers imported War Cloud and W. E. Apple-gates Jack Hare Jr., the victors in 1918, when the race was run in two divisions, owing to the large number of starters, were horses of decided merit. The son of Polymelus and Dreamy defeated such good ones as Lanius, Sunny Slope, Flage, Johron, George Starr, Quietude and Foreground ; Jack Hare Jr., beat The Porter, Recount. Trompe la Mort, Nepperhan and Kate Bright. SIR RARTOX WINS. The peerless Sir Barton, with John Loftus up, Avon in 1919, with Schuttmger on Eternal, second ; L. McAtee on Sweep On, third, and King Plaudit, ridden by Lyke, fourth ; Milkmaid, Dunboyne, Vindex. Over There and Routledge were also in the smashing good field. In the following year the famous Man o War, ridden by Clarence Kummer, carried the black, yellow sash and bars on sleeves of the Glen Riddle Stable first past the post, with II. P. Whitneys pair, Upset and Wildair, second and third. Another good race in 1921 gave H. P. Whitneys Broomspun the Victory over S. L. Jenkins Polly Ann, with another Baltimore horse, J. E. Griffiths Jeg. third, after a gruelling contest. Leonardo II., Careful, Tryster and Bon Homme, a high-class aggregation, were also in the field. The victories of R. T. Wilsons Pillory over Hea, June Grass, Pirate Gold, Galant-man, Hephaistos and other good ones in 1922, and of Walter J. Salmons Vigil, defeating the best three-year-olds in training, including General Thatcher, Rialto, Zev, Sallys Alley, Martingale and Goshawk in 3923, are fresh in the memory of racegoers. Zevs performance on this occasion in finishing out of the money was one of the turf surprises of the season.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1924032601_1_4
Library of Congress Record: