George Odom Is Oldest Living Rider of Belmont: Seven Who Rode Winners Since His 1904 Score Have Passed On, Daily Racing Form, 1948-06-12


view raw text

George Odom Is Oldest Living Rider of Belmont BelmontSeven Seven Who Rode Winners Since His 1904 Score Have Passed On OnBELMONT BELMONT PARK Elmont L I N Y June 11 Twentyeight jockeys have ridden winners of the Belmont Stakes since George Odom oldest living rider of a Belmont vic ¬ tor rode Delhi in 1904 the last time the fix ¬ ture was run at Morris Park Seven of the group have since passed on beginning with Eugene Hildebrand who rode W C Whit ¬ neys filly Tanya in the first running of the stake at Belmont Park in 1905 The others who are no longer with us are George Mountain Eddie Dugan Frank Robinson Clarence Kummer Mack Garner and Char ¬ lie Kurtsinger All of these veterans died in their beds except the brilliant Frank Robinson who was killed in a fall at Bowie Of the older group of riders who followed George Odom into the winners circle Lucien Lyne is still living in Europe and was wasactive active in the saddle a quarter of a century after he won the 1946 Belmont on Burgo ¬ master The others who are now active as trainers or officials are Joe Notter Colin 1908 Jimmy Butwell Sweep 1910 and Hourless 1917 Roscoe Troxler Prince Eugene 1913 Merritt Buxton Luke Mc ¬ Luke 1914 George Byrne The Finn 1915 Everett Haynes Friar Rock 1916 Johnny Loftus Sir Barton 1919 Earl Sande Grey Lag 1921 Zev 1923 Mad Play 1924 Chance Shot 1927 and Gallant Fox 1930 C H Miller Pillory 1922 Alfred Johnson American Flag 1926 and Crusader 1927 and Tommy Malley Faireno 1932 1932Wayne Wayne Wright who is still riding at Bel ¬ mont Park won the 1934 Belmont on Jos ¬ eph E Wideners Peace Chance and is the dean of the winning Belmont riders still in the saddle Willie Saunders Jimmy Stout Freddie Smith Eddie Arcaro Johnny Long den G L Smith Warren Mehrtens and Ruperto Donoso are the other active riders who have Belmont victories to their credit Arcaro and Mehrtens are the only ones with mounts in tomorrows eightieth edition of the stake in which Arcaro will seek to be ¬ come the first jockey to win two Triple Crowns having accomplished the feat on Whirlaway in 1941

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1948061201_4_2
Library of Congress Record: