Longest-Priced Winners since 1910, Daily Racing Form, 1924-01-31

charts and information

view raw text

Longest -Priced Winners Since 1910 There is a fascination and a certain glamor in the victory of a 100 to 1 shot, sometimes a bit of romance. This unexpected happening, which occurs infrequently, always arouses great excitement and enthusiasm both at the track and away from it. The adoption of i the pari-mutucls in Kentucky, Maryland, Canada and elsewhere has been responsible for more long-priced winners than, were recorded in the palmiest days of the bookmakers, j Here is an interesting tabulation, showing the longest-priced winner of each year I from 1910 to 1923, inclusive. The record is held by Wishing Ring, made at Latonia Jure 1 17, 1912, paying ,SS5.50 for J:5 or 941 to 1. The next longest is that of Muzetta W. at Lexington May 7, 1910, paying 30.70 for , or 414 to 1. Then comes the Fincastle 5702 for J2 at Havana December 19, 1923. The longest-priced winner of each year follows: Year. ITorso. Owner. Track. Pate. Odds. 1010 Muzetta W A. "Watkins Lexington May 7 414-1 1911 Jack Parker F. .T. Pons CliurchiU Downs May 13 204-1 1912 Wishing Kins R. McMillan Latonia June 17 941-1 1913 C.rdeau J. G. Oxnard Pimlieo May 7 2S7-1 1914 Misty Morn J. .T. Flannigan Douglas Park May 23 147-1 1915 Rulgar J. E. Harrison Havana February 27 223-1 Wirt Welga .J. T. Jones Douglas Park May 29 279-1 1917 Iolite W. C. Wcant Douglas Tark September 2S 213-1 1918 Itonring Gulch C. Reed Cheyenne August 21 215-1 1919 Heather Moon J..T. Connors : . . . .Hagerstown, Md May 27 248-1 1920 Newel W I. L. Knight Churchill Downs i.. November 9 1S4-1 1921 Stepson C. Middlcton Havana January 7 183-1 1922 De Ronero A. Roard Churchill Downs May 18 164-1 1923 Fincastle A. S. Eastman Havana December 19 330-1

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1920s/drf1924013101/drf1924013101_12_1
Local Identifier: drf1924013101_12_1
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800