Arlington Park Post and Paddock Club to be Lady in Exile Again This Year: Washington Park Will be Site of Seventeenth Annual Season of Organization, Daily Racing Form, 1945-06-13


view raw text

Arlington Park Post and Paddock Club To Be Lady in Exile Again This Year Washington Park Will Be * Site of Seventeenth Annual Season of Organization The Post and Paddock Clubs seventeenth annual reopening June 25 will find this exclusive organization still a "Lady in Exile.- For the third successive summer the Washington Park Jockey Club will be hostess for societys own gilt-edged unit of the Arlington Park Jockey Club. This pleasant interchange of courtesies results ; from transportation emergencies. 1 Walter L. Gregory, president of Washington Park; Benjamin F. Lindheimer, executive director of both Arlington and Washington Park Jockey Clubs, and John D. Jackson, general manager of both plants, have gone to extra effort to beautify the quarters of the visiting club. These comprise the northwest section of the clubhouse and the grassed, tree-shaded terrace between the clubhouse and the grandstand. Gay as a garden, with vivid umbrella-tables and chairs, this terrace directly overlooks the finish line. Luxuriously equipped, an indoor lounge and powder room connect this terrace through outdoor and indoor stairways to the boxes of the Post and Paddock clubhouse section. For those who prefer "a sip and bite" to the elaborate cuisine of the clubhouse dining room, an al fresco bar serves beverages and sandwiches. Since its founding the Post and Paddock Club has had only two presidents. The first was the late Paul Gardner. Since Mr. Gardners death Laurance Hearne Armour has been president. Thomas E. Wilson continues as vice-president, Charles P. Glore. treasurer and Lawrence F. Stern, secretary. Directors are John D. Allen, president of the Arlington Park Jockey Club; Messrs. Armour, Wilson, Stern and Glore. ex officio; Britton I. Budd, Edward A. Cudahy, Jr., Leonard S. Florsheim, Gen. Roy D. Keehn, Otto W. Lehmann. Benjamin F. Lindheimer, Harry H. Lobdell, Charles A. McCulloch, Charles S. Pearce and Silas H. Strawn. Members include the A. Watson Armours, the Bert Atwaters, Wolcott Blairs. John F. Cuneos, Stanley Fields, Marshall Fields, Mrs. John Deere Cady, Mrs. Louis Eckstein, Mrs. J. F. L. Curtis, Oscar Heine-mans, John E. Hughes, Charles, George and Harold Swift among others.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1945061301_28_2
Library of Congress Record: