Sidelights on some Epsom Derby Sires, Daily Racing Form, 1924-06-20


view raw text

Sidelights on Some Epsom Derby Sires BY SALVATOE i i - 1 ] , * 1 i i j , As the worlds premier racing classic, the result of the English Derby excels in interest that of all other contests. The history of the great event annually decided at Epsom Downs is virtually the history of the English thoroughbred, beginning with the year 1780, when Diomed won the inaugural offering of what speedily became the "blue ! ribbon of the turf." And as the turf in all ; other countries stems from that of England, | the supremacy of the Derby will probably ever remain unchallenged. This years renewal had, and has, many points of interest. The story of the race was cabled to DAILY RACING FORM as soon as it was decided, by Mr. Coussell, and we may depend upon him also to provide us with the news and gossip of the big event and the story of the winner, Sansovino, later on. It occurs to me, however, that the victory of that colt affords an opportunity for a few "facts and figures" that will not, I imagine, come within the scope of Mr. Coussells contributions. To many turfmen the outstanding feature of the Derby is the fact that the first and second horses are by the same sire, namely. Swynford. This son of J-ohn o Gaunt and Canterbury Pilgrim led the British sires last year, and the result of the Derby indicates that he may duplicate that achievement in 1924. At least he has already a good start for the goal. Some little time ago I called the attention of readers of the Daily Racing Form to the surprising strength the line from Isonomy Swynford belongs to it through John o Gaunt and Isinglass has developed, despite the comparative scarcity of its members; an evidence of its great carrying power. Sansovino now comes forward, another eminent male, to project it still further into the future. It is a rare feat for a sire to have to his credit both the first and second in the Derby — a much rarer one than to beget two successive Derby winners. I have been at some pains to search out the exact details regarding these achievements and I find that during the period spanned by 1780-1924, or 144 years, only six different progenitors have accomplished the feat just accredited to Swynford ; while no less than thirteen, or more than double that number, have begotten two successive winners of the "blue ribbon." As a matter of interest, here are two brief tables that display these results: SIRES OF FIRST A1VD SECOND HORSES IN THE ENGLISH DERBY THE SAME YEAR. Sweetbriar 1769, by Syphon — Daughter of Shakespeare 1782 — Assassin, first ; Sweet Robin, second. Eclipse 1764, by Marske — Spilletta, by Regnlus 1783 — Saltram, first ; Dungannon, second. Stockwell 1849, by The Baron — Pocahontas, by Glencoe 1866 — Lord Lyon, first ; Savernake, second ; Rustic, third. 1873 — Doncaster, first ; Gang Forward, second. Isonomy 1875, by Sterling — Isola Bella, by Stockwell 1893 — Isinglass, first ; Ravensbury, second. St. Simon 1881, by Galopin— St. Angela, by King Tom 1896 — Persimmon, first ; St. Frusquin, second. 1900 — Diamond Jubilee, first ; Simon Dale, second. Swynford 1907, by John o Gaunt— Canterbury Pilgrim, by Tristan 1924 — Sansovino, first; St. Germans, second. *Dead heat for second place with Skirmisher. It will be seen that Stockwell, "the Emperor of Stallions," bears the palm. He divides with St. Simon the honor of being the only sire twice to furnish both the first and second horses in one and the same Derby; in addition to which he is the only sire in history ever, on any occasion, to furnish also the third horse, wThich he did in 18C6, when his three sons, Lord Lyon, Savernake and Rustic finished one, two, three. But this is not all. Isonomy, the next sire to score with both a first and second in the Derby, was from Stockwell s daughter Isola Belle, while Swynford, which has just accomplished the feat, descends from Isonomy in the direct male line, as above said. Further along the granddam of Sansovino, the son of Swynford that has lifted him into the honor list, is Dongola, by Doncaster. the son of Stockwell that won the Derby of 1873, on which occasion Gang Forward, also by Stockwell, dead-heated for second place with Skirmisher see above. As a pendant to the table given, herewith is that showing all sires that have provided the winner of the English Derby in two successive years: SIRES OF TWO ENGLISH DERBY WINNERS IN SUCCESSIVE YEARS Eclipse 1764, by Marske— Spilletta, by Regulus 1783 — Saltram ; dam, Virago, by Snap. 1784 — Sergeant ; dam, Aspasia, by Herod. Highflyer 1774, by Herod— Rachel, by Blank 178G — Noble ; dam, Brim, by Squirrel. 1787 — Sir Peter Teazle ; dam, Papillon, by Snap. Sir Peter Teazle 1784, by Highflyer— Papillon, by Snap. 1798 — Sir Harry ; dam, Matron, by Alfred. 1799— Archiduke ; dam, Horatia, by Eclipse. Waxy 1793, by Pot-8-os — Maria, by Herod 1809 — Pope ; dam. Prunella* by Highflyer. 1810 — Whalebone ; dam, Penelope, by Trumpator. 1814 — Blucher ; dam, Pantina, by Buzzard. 1815 — Whisker ; dam, Penelope, by Trumpator. Phantom 1808, by Walton — Julia, by Whiskey. 1824 — Cedric ; dam, daughter of Walton. 1825— Middleton ; dam, Web, by Waxy. Tramp 1810, by Hick Andrews — daughter of Johanna 1832 — St Giles ; dam, Arcot Lass, by Ard-rossan. 1833 — Dangerous; dam, Defiance, by Rubens. Touchstone 1831, by Camel — Banter, by Master Henry 1843 — C otherstone; dam, Emma, by Whisker. 1844 — Orlando ; dam, Vulture, by Langar. Parmesan 1857, by Sweetmeat — Gruyere, by Verulam 1871 — Favonius ; dam, Zephyr, by King Tom. 1872 — Cremorne ; dam, Rigolboche, by Rataplan. Hermit 1864, by Newmlnster — Seclusion, by Tadmor 1882— Shotover ; dam, Stray Shot, by Toxo-philite. 1883 — St_ Blaise ; dam, Fusee, by Marsyas. Hampton 1872, by Lord Cllfden— Lady Langden, by Kettledrum 1887 — Merry Hampton ; dam, Doll Tear-sheet, by Broomielaw. 1888 — Ayrshire ; dam, Atlanta, by Galopin. Cyllene 1895, by Bona Vista— Arcadia, by Isonomy 1909 — Minoru ; dam, Mother Siegel, by Friars Balsam. 1910 — Lemberg ; dam, Galicia, by Galopin. Polymelus 1902, by Cyllene — Maid Marion, by Hampton 1915 — Pommern ; dam, Merry Agnes, by St. Hilaire. 1916 — Fifinella; dam, Sliver Fowl, by Wild-fowler. Bayardo 1906, by Bay Ronald— Galicia, by Galopin 1917 — Gay Crusader; dam, Gay Laura, by Beppo. 1918— Gainsborough; dam, Rosedrop, by St. Frusquin. The only progenitor appearing in both tables is the immortal Eclipse. To date, no sire has succeeded in providing the winner of the English Derby for three successive seasons, but a trio of them have almost "turned the trick." The renowned Highflyer, after scoring in 1786 and 1787 with Noble and Sir Peter, Teazle missed the following season, but came back with Sky-i scraper in 1789. Cyllene was the next sire ! to provide three Derby winners in four 1 years, Minoru and Lemberg in 1909-1910 and Tagalie in 1912. Finally, Bayardo, after giving us Gay Crusader and Gainsborough in 1917-191S, just missed out in 1919 when his son, Buchan, ran second to Grand Parade. Waxy stands alone as the only sire that has twice given us two successive Derby winners, Pope and Whalebone in 1809-1S10, and again Blucher and Whisker in 1S14-1815.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1924062001_18_2
Library of Congress Record: