Farnsworth and Gaal Are Reelected by HBPA: Again Selected as Vice-President, Secy-Treasurer of Central Body, Daily Racing Form, 1945-06-11


view raw text

Farnsworth and Gaal Are Reelected byHBPA Again Selected as Vice-President, Secy-Treasurer of Central Body Dr. M. G. Farnsworth was reelected vice-president and Al Gaal, secretary-treasurer of the central division of the Horsemens Benevolent Protective Association at a meeting of that organization held Thursday night in the clubhouse at Hawthorne. Over 100 members were present and the report of the nominating committee was received, with the election unanimous. The following were elected to the executive committee: Xen McNair, chairman; Henry Tikulski, W. H. Bishop, Al Goldman, Ralph Salvino, S. Sidell, Otto Bagley, John Oglesby, Frank Nugent, Joseph Kroeck, and I. White. Members of the alternate committee were Roy Slomer, Ben Endovino, Monte Weil, Bennett Creech, Ed Carpenter, W. J. Foley. Frank McDonald, Chris Lund, Roy Norris, Tim Smith and C. J. Martin, Sr. A separate committee to handle the affairs of the organization in Kentucky was formed with Roscoe Goose selected as chairman and S. Bryant Ott, Leo ODonnell, Jack Hanover and J. P. Keezek, members. James Nugent was named chairman of the local committee for Fairmount Park and was authorized to name other horsemen as associate members. The question of claiming races versus allowance events was discussed and a vote was taken with the result favoring additional claiming races on the daily programs.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1940s/drf1945061101/drf1945061101_6_7
Local Identifier: drf1945061101_6_7
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800