Final Arrangements Made for NCAA Baseball Meet: Committee Plans Elimination Tourney in Omaha June 15-22, Daily Racing Form, 1950-05-01


view raw text

Final Arrangements Made For NCAA Baseball Meet Committee Plans Elimination Tourney in Omaha June 15-2 By the United Press Final plans for the 1950 NCAA Baseball Tournament, scheduled at Omaha, June 15-22, were announced Saturday. • First round pairings will pit representatives from District 2 against District 6 and District 4 against District 7 June 15. District 3 against District 5 and District 1 against District 8 June 16. Teams suffering two defeats will be eliminated. The tournament will be directed by a committee of chairmen including A. J. Lewandowski. Nebraska; Everett D Barnes, Colgate; J. V. Belford, Creighton; Virgil V. Yelkih, Omaha, and Frank G. McCormick, Minnesota. District selection committees were: First: W. L. Gardner, Vermont, chairman; E. C. Roundy. Colby; Ethan Allen, Yale. • Second: Everett D. Barnes, Colgate, chairman; Paul Amen, Army; Charles Gel-bert, Lafayette. Third: R. A. Smith, Washington and Lee, chairman; Wally Rabb, North Carolina; Roy Mundorff, Georgia Tech. Fourth: John Kobs. Michigan Staff chairman; Floyd Stahl, Ohio State; Clarence J. Klein, Notre Dame. Fifth: A. J. Lewandowski, Nebraska, chairman; Leroy Timm, Iowa State; Henry P. Iba, Oklahoma A. and M. Sixth: Lloyd Messersmith, Southern Methodist, chairman; J. F. McKale, Arizona; A. E. Jones, Baylor. Seventh: Fritz Brennecke, Colorado School of Mines, chairman; Glenn Jacoby, Wyoming; Jerry Carle, Colorado College. Eighth: Clinton Evans, California, chairman; Justin M. Barry. Southern California; Ralph Coleman, Oregon State. Selection committees have full authority to pick the district representative, but the NCAA suggested district tournaments were appropriate. Any play-offs to determine a district representative must be completed by June 10.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1950050101_2_4
Library of Congress Record: