Three Tracks to Display TRA Triple Crown Trophy: Vase at Churchill, Pimlico and Belmont Week Preceding Race, Daily Racing Form, 1955-05-02


view raw text

Three Tracks to Display TRA Triple Crown Trophy Vase at Churchill, Pimlico and Belmont Week Preceding Race NEW YORK, N. Y., April 30.— The Thoroughbred Racing Associations. Triple Crown trophy will be on display at Churchill Downs, Pimlico and Belmont Park during the weeks prior to the running of the Triple Crown events, the Kentucky Derby on May 7, the Preakness on May 28 and the Belmont Stakes on June 11, Spencer J. Drayton, executive secretary of TRA, announced today. The trophy, a triangular-shaped vase of silver created for TRA by Cartiers, was first awarded in 1950 and was the first official recognition of the. famed trio of races as the Triple Crown, a designation which had been given them by the press. In the absence of a current winner five presentations have been made retroactively beginning with the late Commander J. K. L. Ross Sir Barton who became the first Triple Crown winner in 1919. Since Sir Barton seven other thoroughbreds have turned the trick: The late William Woodwards Gallant Fox in 1930 and Gallant Foxs son, Omaha, in 1953; the late Samuel D. Riddles War Admiral in JL937; the late Warren Wrights Whirlaway in 1941 and Citation in 1948; Mrs. John D. Hertz Count Fleet in 1943 and Robert J. Klebergs Assault in 1946 Allowing for New Yorks two-year "time out" in 1911 and 12 and a four-Jciar gap in Preakness history, there have been 73 occasions on which a horse might have won the Triple Crown. Sixteen thoroughbreds have won two sections of the Triple Crown but only 10 were full candidates, the others, having passed up the Kentucky Derby. Of these ten near misses, three won the Derby and Preakness; Burgoo King, 1932; Bold Venture, 1936 and Pensive, 1944 but only Pensive got to the Belmont Stakes and he finished second by only one-half length to Bounding Home. Two won the Belmont, and Preakness stakes but failed in the Derby, Capot finishing second to Ppnder in 1949 and Bime-lech second to Gallahadion in 1940. The five Derby-Belmont winners who failed in the Preakness are: Zev, 1923; Twenty Grand, 1931; Johnstown, 1939; Shut Out, 1942 and Middleground, 1950. Only two were in the money in the Preakness, Twenty Grand bowing to Mate and Middleground finishing second to Hill Prince. When entries for the three events closed on March 15 there were 79 colts eligible for the Triple Crown. However a field of no more than 12 is expected to answer the bugle for the Kentucky Derby and not all are named for the Preakness and Belmont Stakes. Should the winner fail to go on to complete the triple the trophy this year will be awarded to Mrs. John D. Hertz in recognition of Count Fleets accomplishment in 1943.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1955050201_51_5
Library of Congress Record: