Canadian Publication Holds Annual Award Dinner Tuesday, Daily Racing Form, 1957-05-17


view raw text

o 8 7 13 3 8 8 6 I 12 5 I ® 11 1 8 7 9 9 8 8 7 9 9 13 8 g 9 9 Canadian Publication Holds Annual Award Dinner Tuesday TORONTO, Ont., May 16.— More than 150 persons from Canada and the United States are expected to attend the fourth annual awards dinner sponsored by the "Thoroughbred of Canada" to be held in the roof garden of the Royal York Hotel here on Tuesday evening. Rex C. Ellsworth, breeder and co-owner of Swaps, will be the guest speaker at the affair. The dinner will honor the stallion Bunty Lawless, voted Canadas Sire of the Year for 1956, and E. P. Taylors Bolesteo, Canadas Broodmare of the Year. The awards will be made by L. W. Ruby, publisher of the "Thoroughbred of Canada." Among those who are expected to attend the dinner are E. P. Taylor, George C. Hendrie, Col. K. R. Marshall, Conn Smythe, Larkin Maloney, Magistrate S. Tupper Bige-low, M. D. Richardson, J. Frowde Seagram, Russell Y. Graul, Frank Conklin. William Beasley, Harry Addison, J. Elgin Armstrong. Humphrey S. Finney. J. H. Stafford. H. J. Carmichael, John L. Appelbaum, Ben R. Steen, V. J. Sheridan, Frank Ellins. W. Fair, Col. J. E. Smallman, Carr Hatch. James L. Cooke, F. G. Darlington and Mayor Nathan Phillips of Toronto.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1957051701_40_3
Library of Congress Record: