Murphy And Sande Astride Successive Derby Winners, Daily Racing Form, 1939-05-08


view raw text

MURPHY AND SANDE ASTRIDE SUCCESSIVE DERBY WINNERS LOUISVILLE, Ky., May 6.— Riding two successive Kentucky Derby winners has been the good fortune of only two reinsmen in the long history of the famous Churchill Downs classic. Isaac Murphy, the first to pilot three winners, was also the first to ring up two in a row when he guided Riley and Kingman home in front in 1890-91. This feat was repeated by Jim Wakefield in 1901-02 astride His Eminence and Alan-a-Dale. There have been four other jockeys who have managed to twice ride the winner, while Earl Sande shares the top spot with Murphy for the greatest number of victories — three. The double winners, but whose victories were n t registered in successive runnings, were Willie Sims, 1896-98; Johnny Loftus, 1916-19; Linus McAtee, 1927-29; Charles Kurtsinger, 1931-37.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1939050801_21_4
Library of Congress Record: