Prominent Trainers Who Rode Derby Winners, Daily Racing Form, 1939-05-08


view raw text

PROMINENT TRAINERS WHO RODE DERBY WINNERS Jockeys who rode winners of the Derby, who afterwards became prominent as trainers, include Vincent Powers, W. Knapp, Joe Notter, John Loftus, Roscoe Goose and Earl Sande. It was in 1908 that Vincent Powers rode Wintergreen to victory; Goose was on Worth in 1912, Joe Notter on Regret in 1915, John Loftus on George Smith in 1916 and Sande has a triple to his credit— Zev, in 1923; Flying Ebony, in 1925, and Gallant Fox, in 1930.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1939050801_43_3
Library of Congress Record: