Expect Field of 39 Drivers in Milwaukee 100-Mile Race, Daily Racing Form, 1951-06-09


view raw text

Expect Field of 39 Drivers In Milwaukee 100-Mile Race MILWAUKEE, Wis., June 8 UP.— The bulk of the Memorial Day "500" drivers will head a field of 39 Sunday in the National Championship 100-mile auto race at State Fair Park. The crack field threatens to beat Bill Hollands record of onerhour, eight minutes and 44.6 seconds set over the one-mile dirt track in 1947. Lee Wallard, of Altamont, N. Y., winner of the Indianapolis "500," had entered, but will not race because of burns suffered in a race at Reading, Pa., last Sunday. Six others who finished in the top 10 at Indianapolis will head the field — including Tony Bettenhausen of Tinley Park, HI., who won the 100-mile race last year and finished ninth in the "500" this year. He will drive a Belanger Special Offenhauser. Mike Nazaruk, of East Meadow, Long Island, N. Y., who finished second at Indianapolis, will drive a Jim Robbins Special. * Manuel Ayulo, of Burbank, Calif., third in the "500," will drive a Coast Grain Special, and Bob Hall of Phoenix, Ariz., fourth at Indianapolis, will compete in a Blakely Special.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1950s/drf1951060901/drf1951060901_2_5
Local Identifier: drf1951060901_2_5
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800