Favor Spartans to Capture Big Ten Tennis Championship, Daily Racing Form, 1951-05-23


view raw text

Favor Spartans to Capture Big Ten Tennis Championship EVANSTON, HI., May 22 UP. — The newest member of the Big Ten, Michigan Stater was favored today to capture the championship of the forty-second .annual conference tennis tournament scheduled to open tomorrow on the Northwestern courts. The Spartans boasted the top favorite for the singles title in Len Brose, with strong support from Dave Mills, John Sahratian, Ken and Keith Kimble and Dick Rieger. Illinois was rated as the Spartans chief contender, though Michigan State topped the Ulini recently, 8 to 1, for the first Illinois defeat. The number one player for Illinois will be Sonny Bradley, with other team members Gene Buwick, Bob Ben-nerth, Jim Moses, Lee Bishop and Bob Hoffman. Defending champion Northwestern has only one player back from the -1950 title-holders, Curt Beusman, who is number two to sophomore Dan Baumle. Michigan, runner-up last year, has two returning lettermen, Steve Bromberg, a finalist in the number four singles division last year, and Al Hetzeck. The tournament will end Friday.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1950s/drf1951052301/drf1951052301_43_8
Local Identifier: drf1951052301_43_8
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800