Reflections: Brookmeade Now Tops Money-Winning Stables Columet Going Strong, despite Many Setbacks Like, Daily Racing Form, 1951-05-23


view raw text

REFLECTIONS *y NELS0N dunstan NEW -YORK, N. Y., May 22.— When Bold won the Preakness by seven lengths from Counterpoint, his earnings of 3,110 carried the Brookmeade Stable of Mrs. Isabel Dodge Sloane to the top of the list of money-winning owners with 29,-680. Last month, the Yolo Stable of •Tnhn John TV T. npTHnis DeBlois Wnolr Wack uroc was fho the 1»ar?of leader •Tnhn John TV T. npTHnis DeBlois Wnolr Wack uroc was fho the 1»ar?of leader with 52,900, closely followed by King and Luellwitz and the Calumet Farm and the Brookmeade Stable. The yolo Stable owed its high position to one horse, Great Circle, who won the Santa Anita Maturity, now the worlds richest race. It was a foregone conclusion that the money-winning list was to undergo drastic changes due to the many rich races which were to be run in May. King and Luellwitz now are second with 97,085; Calumet Farm third, 81,790; Yolo Stable fourth, 56,750, and J. J. Amiel fifth, with 14,725. The lead is certain to change in the months to come, but it is fairly certain that Brookmeade and Calumet will be among the pacemakers as the months advance. To date, some of the top owners have depended on one horse for their position, but Brookmeade and Calumet have colorbearers in all . divisions who could materially add to their earnings. Calumet may not be as strong as it was a few years ago, but having horses of such superb breeding, there is no telling when the Jones boys will develop another youngster who will be all powerful. AAA Most things, it is said, run in cycles. That is as true in racing and breeding of thoroughbreds as it is in the stock market or baseball. A glance at the American Racing Manual bears out this statement. Bull Lea was Brookmeade Now Tops Money-Winning Stables Calumet Going Strong, Despite Many Setbacks Like Everything Else, Earnings Run in Cycles Last Years Leaders May Fight It Out Again the leading stallion in this country from 1947 to 1949, inclusive, while Heliopolis became the kingpin in 1950. For a time it appeared as if Sun Beau would remain the worlds money-winning champion for many years, but no less than 16 horses, notably Citation and Stymie, have since surpassed him. One horse can be a powerful factor in placing an owner in a prominent position, but racing history has shown that in the "cycle changes" it is the owners of top stables in various divisions who dominate the situation. Before the turn of the century, the Dwyer Brothers were standouts over their competitors. The turf writers of that day predicted there would never be another stable with such an array of champions. But they were wrong. James R. Keene came along to lead the money-winning list from 1905 to 1908, inclusive, and again it was claimed there would never be another outfit with horses to equal top racers who carried the silks of that colorful figure. Following Keene, Sam Hil-dreth led the list for three years, 1909 to 1911. Back in those years there were cycles and every so often a great stable came along to dominate the picture. AAA The year 1920, when Harry Payne Whitney led the money-winning list, saw the beginning of a Whitney cycle, despite the fact that the Rancocas Stable of Harry F. Sinclair was the leader in the three successive seasons from 1921 to 1923. Harry Payne Whitney, one of the best sportsmen in American racing, came back to top the list in 1926, 1927 and 1929. His son, C. V. Whitney, carried on for his father and for four successive years, 1930 to 1933, topping all owners. His greatest horse, in those years, was the "Chocolate Soldier," Equipoise. In 1934 Mrs. Dodge Sloanes Brookmeade Stable assumed the leadership and then came a period of years when A. G. Vanderbilt, Milky Way Stable of Ethel B. Mars, Mrs. Charles S. Howard, H. Maxwell Howard and Belair Stud of William Woodward led. Charles S. Howard was the leader in 1940 and then came the era in -which the Calumet Farm of Warren Wright raced champion after champion. Since the turn of the century, bulwarks of the turf have developed colorbearers who dominated racing year after year. AAA Wright came into the picture for the first time in 1941 when his horses won 75,091. The Greentree Stable of Mrs. Payne Whitney then took over, but in the following two years Wright was uppermost on the money-winning ladder. In 1945, Mrs. Elizabeth N. Graham upset *Calumet again, but, for the next four years, Calumet was the undisputed money winner, scoring their greatest success in 1947, when their colorbearers won ,402,436. In 1949, Calumet had 42 horses to win 85 races and a total of ,128,942. At that time it appeared as if their reign of success would continue for many years. But in 1950 Mrs. Sloanes stable, under the expert management of Preston Burch, was to return and assert a leadership for the, first time since 1934, when she led the list with 51,138. Last year, Brookmeade Stable had 48 horses winning 100 races and 51,399. Calumet was second, with 68 winners and 38,280. That was the end Continued on Page Thirty-Four REFLECTIONS I By NELSON DUNSTAN Continued from Page Forty-Four of "a cycle and, from all indications, the beginning of a new one for Brookmeade Stable. AAA A strange angle of these cycles is that Eddie Arcaro has never been listed as the leading iockey in any year. From 1898 and 1899, Tommy Burns won the jockey championship. In the present century, Walter Miller, Vincent Powers, Don Meade, Johnny Adams, Ted Atkinson, and others, won championships, but not once has the name of Arcaro, to say nothing of Earl Sande, appeared at the top of the list of American race riders. Yet Arcaro is the only boy to ride four winners of the Kentucky Derby, and now four winners of the Preakness. To say nothing of four winners of the Belmont Stakes. Last Saturday he was booed again when the blanket of black-eyed susans was thrown over .the withers of Bold in the Preakness winners circle. No other jockey in history has ever equaled this boy, who will, go down "in the record books as one of the greatest raceriders the American turf has ever known. It was Grantland Rice who once wrote in a poem that the "crowd never booes a bum." It takes put its wrath on such as Jack Demp-sey, Joe DiMaggio and Eddie Arcaro.

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1951052301_44_3
Library of Congress Record: