Turfwriters Association Selects Committee Heads, Daily Racing Form, 1959-05-13


view raw text

Turfwriters Association Selects Committee Heads PIMLICO, Baltimore, Md., May 12. — Maurice Shevlin of the Chicago Tribune, Joe Nichols of the New York Times, Raleigh Burroughs of Turf and Sport Digest, Dean Eagle of the Louisville Times, Bill Boniface of the Baltimore Sun, Ernie Mason of the Los Angeles Examiner and Bill Lauder of the New York Herald-Tribune have been appointed to head committees of the recently organized National Turfwriters Association, it was announced here today by general chairman Joe Hirsch of Daily Racing Form. Shevlin heads the constitutional committee, Nichols the press box committee, Burroughs the projects committee, Eagle the dinner committee, Boniface the awards committee, Mason the nominations committee and Lauder the membership committee. Each committee is to consist of six or seven turfwriters from papers throughout the country, whose assignments will be announced by mail this week by secretary-treasurer Jerry McNerney of the Louisville Courier-Journal.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1950s/drf1959051301/drf1959051301_3_5
Local Identifier: drf1959051301_3_5
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800