Feature Speedway Racing at Aurora Downs June 24: Seven-Event Program Arranged; Holland May Drive in Headliner, Daily Racing Form, 1951-06-11


view raw text

Feature Speedway Racing At Aurora Downs June 24 Seven-Event Program Arranged; Holland May Drive in Headliner AURORA, HI., June 9.— Roaring speedway-type race cars will take over- the Aurora Downs oval, Sunday, June 24, in wide open competition for cash purses and qualifying guarantees totaling ,000 At the controls will be many of Americas most daring state, regional and national speed kings., Manager Erwin Dygert has announced a seven-event program totaling nearly 70 laps of competition on the broad half-mile oval. Time trials will be held at 1:30 and the first of six races at 2:30 p. m. As has been the custom for the past three years, Indianapolis Speedway rules will govern the size of competing motors. This will allow conventional motors up to 274 cubic inches. Efforts are being made to secure the signed entry of Bill Holland, 1949 Indianapolis "500" winner and second place money winner last year. Midwestern speed fans have clamored long for a chance to see the speedway champion tangle with Frank Luptow, two-time IMAC dirt track champion, and the "Battle of the Year" is in prospect for Aurora Downs. Listed among the Standout drivers who have indicated they will compete formal entries are Bobby Grim of Indianapolis; Frank Luptow the holder of the track record and IMC A champion for-1949 -50; Stanley Callaway, of Miami, Fla.; AI Kern, of Lima, Ohio; Ken Rubright, of Davenport, Iowa; Phil Mocca, of St. Louis; Ralph Moore, of Austin, Minn.; Herschel Wagner, of Kansas City; Lee Huffman, of Burbank, Cal., and Keith. Saylor, of Macomb, HI.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1950s/drf1951061101/drf1951061101_2_5
Local Identifier: drf1951061101_2_5
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800