300 Honor Mrs. Graham at KTBA Annual Dinner: Receives Plaque for Belle Jeep Being Voted Top More of 1957, Daily Racing Form, 1958-05-01


view raw text

I — 300 Honor Mrs. Graham ! At KTBA Annual Dinner Receives Plaque for Belle Jeep Being Voted Top Mare of 1957 CHURCHILL DOWNS, Louisville, Ky,, i April 30.— More than 300 members of the Kentucky Thoroughbred Breeders Association, members of press, radio, television and invited guests assembled in the roof garden of the Brown Hotel here last night to pay tribute to Mrs. Elizabeth Graham and her Broodmare of the Year, Belle Jeep, at this annual award dinner. The mistress of Maine Chance Farm and Belle Jeep, dam of Jewels Reward, were the 13th recipients of this KTBA award which was originated in 1946 with Ogden Phipps Bloodroot being the initial winner. Calumet Farm followed with Poteen in 1947, and then came Woodvale Farms Our Page, Calumets Easy Lass, Mrs. Christopher T. ,Chenerys Hildene, Mereworth Farms Al-| penstock III., Mrs. Walter M. Jeffords Ace ,Card, Duval Headleys Gaga, Clifford Mooers* Traffic Court, Rex C. Ellsworths | Iron Reward and E. G. Drakes Swoon. I Wathen Knebelkamp, past president of : KTBA* and president of Kentucky divl-jsion HBPA, made the plaque presentation to Mrs. Graham and noted, "Belle Jeep by War Jeep from Model Beauty has three foals, one an allowance winner, another Lord Jeep, which dead-heated Decathlon in the John Alden Stakes, and, of course, Jewels Reward who established a new money winning record last year for two-year-olds in earning 49,642." On the speakers dias with Mrs. Graham were her niece, Mrs. Pat Young, and Mrs. Richard Lunn, mistress of Llangollen Farm. Leslie Combs, chairman of the Kentucky State Racing Commission and slated to act as master of ceremonies, was an absentee due to, as Bill Corum noted, "the presence of a buyer from Texas." Following the presentation, Bill Corum took the floor and commenced his annual roundup of opinions of trainers with horses in the Derby. Among those present were all past presidents of KTBA, J. Graham Brown, Roscoe Goose, Scroggan Jones, Clifford Lussky, Charles S. Nahn, James L. Paddock and. * present president Patrick Calhoun Jr.

Persistent Link: https://drf.uky.edu/catalog/1950s/drf1958050101/drf1958050101_39_4
Local Identifier: drf1958050101_39_4
Library of Congress Record: https://lccn.loc.gov/unk82075800