Triple Crown Brochure Of Notes Is Released: TRA Publication Shows Term First Coined in 1941 Series, Daily Racing Form, 1959-05-01


view raw text

Triple Crown Brochure Of Notes Is Released . TRA Publication Shows Term First Coined in 1941 Series "The Triple Crown," a colorful 12-page brochure published recently by the Thor- j oughbred Racing Associations, Inc., reveals I that the first use of the nomenclature, in relation to a thoroughbreds winning the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont ■ Stakes, was in 1941 — the year Calumet Farms Whirlaway captured all three sophomores classics. "The Triple Crown was so named by the press." said Spencer Drayton, executive secretary of the TRA. "But it was not until 1950. when the TRA board of directors voted to create a trophy for the past and future winners, that it took on a sort of official status. Chances are that one of the four winners prior to Whirlaway was referred to as a Triple Crown winner but our research, limited by available time and available sources, shows Whirlaway to be the first Triple Crown winner who was hailed as such." For example, the brochures brief historical introduction quotes a 1937 headline, "War Admiral Wins Belmont," then adds that, while subheads proceed to tell that the winner equaled the American record for the distance and that it was his "fourth straight stakes win" the preceding ones being the Preakness, Derby and Chesapeake, there is no mention of a Triple Crown success. When, in 1919, the press duly noted that Sir Barton was the first colt to win all three classics, there was no mention of a Triple Crown and the same holds true for 1930 and 1935 when Gallant Fox and Omaha duplicated Sir Bartons achievement. Count Fleet 1943, Assault 1946 and Citation 1948 complete the list of eight Triple Crown winners. Twenty thoroughbreds have won two sections of the Triple Crown. However, only 14 could be counted as Triple Crown candidates, the other six, including Man o War, having failed to run in the Derby. Of the fourteen potential Triple Crown winners four won the Derby and Preakness — Burgoo King. 1932; Bold Venture. 1936: Pensive, 1944, and Tim Tarn. 1958. Of these four only two. Pensive and Tim Tarn, ran in the Belmont. Both finished second. Four others who narrowly missed Triple Crown laurels were Bimelech. 1940; Capot. 1949; Native Dancer, 1953. and Nashua. 1955. All four finished second in the Derby, then went on to win the Preakness and Belmont. The remaining six who came close to earning the title — winning the Derby and Belmont but failing in the Preakness were Zev. 1923; Twenty Grand, 1931: Johnstown. 1939: Shut Out. 1942: Middlenround. 1950. and Needles. 1956. The brochure, printed in a magazine format, sketches briefly the history of Men of the eight champions who have mined Triple Crown distinction, along with his owner, trainer and jockey Illustrations Include winner! circle portraits end action •hoi:, of all eight. A tiiblc on the hack cover lists the 76 candidates for the LtM Triple Crown

Persistent Link:
Local Identifier: drf1959050101_4_2
Library of Congress Record: